Durham Concerto Première

Home / / Durham Concerto Première


Deep Purple star Jon Lord, former keyboard player in the rock band, wrote the Durham Concerto to celebrate Durham University’s 175th anniversary. It was performed by the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra with Jon Lord playing the Hammond Organ solo piece.

The 45-minute Concerto contained influences from jazz, ragtime, rock, and even Northumbrian folk music, including an old miners’ lament. It consisted of six movements, arranged into three parts: Morning, Afternoon and Evening. Morning describes the Cathedral at dawn and then the town coming to life. Afternoon starts with a movement representing the historic event where monks carried St Cuthbert’s body from Lindisfarne, and concludes as the composer contemplates the wonderful view from Prebends Bridge. The last section, Evening, captures the high spirits of a student dance and a Miner’s Gala, and ends with an imposing, but uplifting, movement in praise of the Cathedral.

Soloists included acclaimed Northumbrian Pipe player, Kathryn Tickell, with Ruth Palmer, who won Young British Classical Performer at the 2007 Classical Brit Awards, on violin and Matthew Barley on cello.


20 October 2007


Durham Cathedral

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search

DSC_2110 - croppedColleen Lee 2